Bolo de Mel – Madeira Honey Cake

My Culinary Saga

IMG_16011

Bolo de mel  which translates to “honey cake” also commonly known as the Madeira Honey Cake is from the Madeira Islands. Thanks to Lina from Lin’s Recipe and her innovative idea of reviving rare recipes, I had the opportunity to dig up details on this wonderful nutty cake. And trust me google didn’t provide me much and translations were not the best to follow. So with a month in hand to research and read from all sources, I finally settled down with this recipe, which I guess comes closest to the traditional one. I was quite intrigued to read about the origin of the cake. I will save you the trouble of researching and will sum it up here for your reading.

Madeira Island is an island set in the Atlantic Ocean, 550km of the coast of Morrocco and 970km from Portugal. This cake is considered to be Madeira’s oldest dessert…

View original post 917 more words

Leave a Reply

