Lean In…Against Fear

When I Have Time by Sara Rosso

I’ll preface this by saying I haven’t read Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg cover-to-cover, but I know enough to know I have conflicting feelings about it. The book generated a lot of discussions about what it means to be a “career woman,” the tradeoffs and benefits of leaning in at work, if we really can “have it all,” and what the “all” is, anyway.

There are a lot of opinions.

But one thing I feel very strongly about, and there need be no debate, is the need to lean in against ourselves and our own fears. Fear of competence, of confidence, of worthiness, of credibility, of authority, of preparation, of relevance. Leaning in to fight imposter syndrome. Leaning in against usually the loudest and sometimes only voice saying “You can’t do this,” your own.

I’m not talking about leaning in against lack of interest. Maybe you don’t want to be the…

View original post 432 more words

Leave a Reply

