Maroggia’s Mill Cookbook: Whole Wheat Flour “Pain de Lodève” / Il Ricettario del Mulino di Maroggia: “Pain de Lodève” integrale

rise of the sourdough preacher

pain de lodeve 1

Wholemeal flour. I must admit it, its’ a kind of flour that I use little…very little. Blame it on my passion for pillowy white bread, but maybe it’s about time to change my habits and try to use it more often in my recipes. Alessandro, our favourite miller, was recently a guest of Swiss Italian television to talk about this very special kind of flour and I was asked by him to develop a recipe specifically for the occasion for Maroggia’s Mill Cookbook. Quite a challenge since I usually use whole wheat flour just to add flavour and hardly in amounts greater than 30%. But the results of this recipe were so good that I’ll try to introduce more often whole wheat flour in my recipes.

My first thought went to pain paillasse, a bread that I discovered as a teenager when my sister moved to study at the University…

View original post 1,283 more words

Leave a Reply

